Susana Coelho elected EMBO member

Max Planck Institute Director joins the list of outstanding scientists in EMBO’s 60th anniversary year

July 08, 2024

Dr. Susana Coelho is now among the 69 distinguished scientists to join the new European Molecular Biology Organization (EMBO), the Heidelberg-based scientific organisation announced on 9 July 2024. EMBO is a non-profit organisation that promotes excellence in the life sciences in Europe and beyond, comprising a community of more than 2,000 leading researchers. The Membership honours scientists for outstanding contributions to biological research.

Dr. Susana Coelho is director of the Department of Algal Development and Evolution at the Max Planck Institute for Biology Tübingen. The evolutionary biologist focuses on the molecular and evolutionary mechanisms behind the complex developmental patterns and reproductive traits found in brown and red algae, as well as the origin and evolution of sexual system diversity across eukaryotes.

“Becoming an elected member of EMBO is an honour. It will be a great opportunity to network, learn about the latest advances in molecular biology, and be part of this community of exceptional scientists.” Susana Coelho says, “I am delighted personally and on behalf of the many talented researchers who have achieved so much for my group over the years.”

This year's awardees have been recognised for contributions spanning the spectrum of life science research, including work that has demystified the spread of infectious diseases, the intricacies of ocean nutrient cycles, the mysteries of cellular signalling networks, the secrets of how plants survive in desert environments, and the links between the biology of our brains and our emotions.

As EMBO embarks on its 60th anniversary, its mission is to strengthen international and talented life science researchers at all stages of their careers, stimulate the exchange of scientific information and help build a European research environment where scientists can thrive. 

The new members join a community of more than 2,000 leading life science experts, alongside 91 Nobel laureates, including fellow Max Planck Institute for Biology Tübingen and Nobel Prize winner Christiane Nüsslein-Volhard, who was granted membership in 1983 and won her Nobel Prize in 1995.

This year, 49 of the 120 newly elected  EMBO Members and Associate Members are women (41%) and 71 are men (59%).

Members serve on the EMBO Council and Committees, assess grant applications, and offer advice and support for EMBO operations. New members are nominated and elected by existing EMBO Members.

The EMBO community will formally welcome the new members in Heidelberg, Germany, between 29 October and 1 November 2024.

An online directory listing all EMBO Members and Associate Members, their affiliations, and subject areas is available here.

Go to Editor View